Illinois Recognized at American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Meeting

NEW ORLEANS — Illinois Farm Bureau Young Leaders had a strong showing at the American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Meeting in New Orleans as Andrew and Heather Spray of Edwards County advanced to the top 10 finalists in the Young Farmer and Rancher Excellence in Agriculture competition, and Megan Dwyer of Henry County advanced to the Sweet 16 in the Young Farmer and Rancher Discussion Meet. Justin and Ellen Rahn of Carroll County competed in the Young Leader Excellence in Agriculture Award.

“Our Young Leaders are thriving in the Illinois Farm Bureau, and they’re the future of our organization,” Guebert said. “I’m so proud of all they’ve accomplished here at AFBF, and I am energized by what they will do for this organization in the future.”

Illinois Farm Bureau received a New Horizon Award for their collaborative work on the Illinois Livestock Report. The New Horizon Award honors states with the most innovative new programs, and IFB received Excellence awards for Advocacy, Engagement and Outreach, Leadership and Business Development, and Membership Value.

Earlier in the day, American Farm Bureau Foundation awarded IFB with one of six Scholar Awards given to states with the highest total donations to the Foundation within their membership group.

More than 6,000 people from 50 states and Puerto Rico attended the convention, including 352 farmer and rancher delegates who voted on grassroots policies and policy amendments.

The Illinois Farm Bureau is a member of the American Farm Bureau Federation, a national organization of farmers and ranchers. Founded in 1916, IFB is a non-profit, membership organization directed by farmers who join through their county Farm Bureau. IFB has a total membership of more than 396,000 and a voting membership of more than 78,000. IFB represents three out of four Illinois farmers.